Since October 2010, FMS-WM has reduced the portfolio taken over from the HRE Group with a nominal value of EUR 175.7 billion to EUR 69.3 billion as at the end of 2019.

Portfolio wind-up came to EUR 5.0 billion in fiscal year 2019. Including the assets with a nominal value of EUR 4.0 billion acquired from DEPFA Group companies in fiscal year 2019 and foreign currency effects of EUR 1.3 billion that increase the nominal value of the portfolio, FMS-WM’s remaining portfolio amounted to EUR 69.3 billion as at the end of 2019.

FMS-WM continued its successful strategy of selling DEPFA Group bonds and promissory notes DEPFA liabilities) purchased on the market to DEPFA Group companies in order to acquire assets from DEPFA Group companies in return. Since 2016, assets with nominal volume of EUR 11.7 billion have been acquired from the DEPFA Group by FMS-WM.

The number of counterparties in FMS-WM’s portfolio fell by 8.2% in 2019 to 762. Originally, there were 3,191 counterparties in the portfolio. The number of remaining exposures has dropped by 78% since 1 October 2010 to 1,591.

20200420 FMS WM GB19 EN Weltkarte

The individual exposures are located in 42 countries, with significant concentrations in the United Kingdom, Italy and the USA. The share of the portfolio attributable to these three countries is now around 71%. Since the portfolio was taken over, the number of countries in which FMS-WM still holds exposures has been reduced by 24.

20200420 Grafiken Gesamtportfolio EN

The Commercial Real Estate (CRE) segment, which at the time of the transfer comprised 3,512 individual exposures and thus made up almost half of all acquired positions in the overall portfolio, has been reduced at the fastest pace since FMS-WM was established, helped in part by the positive market environment and the short remaining maturities of the loans.

In the course of these two transactions in the first quarter of 2020, the Commercial Real Estate segment’s remaining nominal value of EUR 1.1 billion as at the end of 2019 was reduced to a nominal value of EUR 0.4 billion, with just eight remaining borrowers with comparatively short remaining maturities.

20200420 Grafiken CRE EN

The Infrastructure segment still makes up around 14% of the remaining portfolio at the end of 2019.

At the end of 2019, the portfolio still contained 246 individual exposures (prior-year end: 279 exposures). Since the portfolio was taken over, the nominal value of the Infrastructure portfolio of EUR 18.0 billion has been reduced by 47%.

20200420 Grafiken Infra EN

The Public Sector portfolio was to EUR 34.7 billion at yearend 2019.

The borrowers and issuers of securities are state and regional governments, municipalities, public law entities and semi-public companies. Receivables from European Union member states account for the majority of the portfolio, with a large percentage of this comprising exposures with very long remaining maturities.

20200420 Grafiken Public EN

At the end of 2019, one-third of the overall portfolio was invested in the Structured Products segment.

Among others, this segment includes structured credit instruments such as asset-backed securities (ABS), commercial or residential mortgage-backed securities (CMBS or RMBS) or collateralised debt obligations (CDO). About a third of the structured securities in FMS-WM’s portfolio are based on government-guaranteed student loans in the USA.

20200420 Grafiken Structured EN

The wind-up of Irish DEPFA Group is making progress. Helped by the transactions carried out with FMS-WM in 2019, the DEPFA Group’s total assets fell by a further EUR 6.5 billion to EUR 8.9 billion as at the end of 2019 and the Tier 1 capital (CET1) ratio rose to 152,3% as at the end of 2019.

When examining the possibility of acquiring the DEPFA Group, FMS-WM had already identified value levers that would result in a more favourable outlook for the wind-up of the DEPFA Group. These consisted of:

  • cutting costs
  • systematically leveraging the funding advantages
  • buying back the liabilities issued by the DEPFA Group

In winding up the DEPFA Group, FMS-WM was able to use most of the value levers identified at DEPFA, in particular through the successful capital measures.

Given the progress achieved in fiscal year 2019 and irrespective of the further wind-up strategy, FMS-WM continues to assume that winding up the DEPFA Group remains the favourable option compared with the sale that was not carried out in 2014.

20200420 CET ratio DEPFA

Further information on DEPFA Bank plc is available on the website https://www.depfa.com

Seit Oktober 2010 konnte die FMS-WM das von der HRE-Gruppe übernommene Portfolio mit einem Nominalwert von EUR 175,7 Mrd. auf EUR 69,3 Mrd. per Ende 2019 reduzieren.

Der Abbau des Portfolios im Geschäftsjahr 2019 belief sich auf EUR 5,0 Mrd. Unter Berücksichtigung der im Geschäftsjahr 2019 von Gesellschaften der DEPFA-Gruppe erworbenen Vermögenswerte mit einem Nominalvolumen von EUR 4,0 Mrd. und den Nominalwert des Portfolios erhöhenden Fremdwährungseffekten von EUR 1,3 Mrd. beläuft sich das verbleibende Portfolio der FMS-WM zum Jahresende 2019 auf EUR 69,3 Mrd.

Die bisher erfolgreiche Strategie, am Markt erworbene Anleihen und Schuldscheine der DEPFA-Gruppe an Gesellschaften der DEPFA-Gruppe zu veräußern, um im Gegenzug Vermögenswerte der Gesellschaften der DEPFA-Gruppe zu erwerben, wurde fortgesetzt. Insgesamt konnten so seit 2016 Vermögenswerte mit einem Nominalvolumen von EUR 11,7 Mrd. von der DEPFA-Gruppe durch die FMS-WM erworben werden.

Die Zahl der Kontrahenten im Portfolio der FMS-WM reduzierte sich im Jahr 2019 um 8,2 % auf 762. Ursprünglich befanden sich im Portfolio 3.191 Kontrahenten. Die Zahl der noch verbliebenen Engagements ist seit dem 1. Oktober 2010 um 78 % auf 1.591 gesunken.

20200420 FMS WM GB19 DE Weltkarte

Die Einzelengagements verteilen sich auf 42 Länder mit deutlichen Schwerpunkten in Großbritannien, Italien und den USA. Der Anteil dieser drei Länder am Portfolio beläuft sich auf nunmehr rund 71 %. Seit der Übernahme des Portfolios konnte die Anzahl der Länder, in denen die FMS-WM noch Engagements hält, um 24 reduziert werden.

20200420 Grafiken Gesamtportfolio DE

Das Segment Commercial Real Estate (CRE), das zum Zeitpunkt der Übertragung mit 3.512 Einzelengagements fast die Hälfte aller übernommenen Positionen des Gesamtportfolios ausmachte, konnte seit Gründung der FMS-WM, auch begünstigt durch das positive Marktumfeld und aufgrund der kurzen Restlaufzeiten der Kredite, am schnellsten abgebaut werden.

Das zum Jahresende 2019 noch verbleibende Nominalvolumen des Segments Commercial Real Estate in Höhe von EUR 1,1 Mrd. konnte im Zuge von zwei Transaktionen im ersten Quartal 2020 auf ein Nominalvolumen von EUR 0,4 Mrd. bei gerade einmal acht verbleibenden Kreditnehmern mit vergleichsweise kurzen Restlaufzeiten reduziert werden.

20200420 Grafiken CRE

Das Segment Infrastructure macht Ende des Jahres 2019 noch rund 14 % des verbliebenen Portfolios aus.

Zum Jahresende 2019 befanden sich in dem Portfolio noch 246 Einzelpositionen (Vorjahresende 279 Positionen). Seit Übernahme des Portfolios konnte der Nominalwert des Infrastructure- Portfolios von EUR 18,0 Mrd. um 47 % verringert werden.

20200420 Grafiken Infra DE

Das Public-Sector-Portfolio konnte auf EUR 34,7 Mrd. zum Jahresende 2019 reduziert werden.

Bei den Kreditnehmern und Emittenten von Wertpapieren handelt es sich um Staaten, Regionen, Städte, Anstalten des öffentlichen Rechts und staatsnahe Unternehmen. Forderungen gegenüber Staaten der Europäischen Union bilden den Großteil des Portfolios, das durch einen hohen Anteil von Forderungen mit sehr langen Restlaufzeiten geprägt ist.

20200420 Grafiken Public Sector DE

Ein Drittel des Gesamtportfolios ist Ende des Jahres 2019 im Segment Structured Products investiert.

In diesem Segment befinden sich unter anderem strukturierte Kreditinstrumente wie Asset Backed Securities (ABS), Commercial beziehungsweise Residential Mortgage Backed Securities (CMBS beziehungsweise RMBS) oder Collateralized Debt Obligations (CDO). Rund ein Drittel der strukturierten Wertpapiere im Portfolio der FMS-WM basieren auf staatlich garantierten Studentenkrediten in den USA.

20200420 Grafiken Structured DE

Die Abwicklung der DEPFA-Gruppe macht weiter Fortschritte. Begünstigt durch die 2019 durchgeführten Transaktionen mit der FMS-WM sank die Bilanzsumme der DEPFA-Gruppe bis zum Jahresende 2019 um weitere EUR 6,5 Mrd. auf EUR 8,9 Mrd., die Kernkapitalquote (CET 1 Ratio) stieg zum Jahresende 2019 nochmals auf 152,3 %.

Bereits bei der Prüfung einer möglichen Übernahme hatte die FMS-WM Werthebel identifiziert, die zu günstigeren Perspektiven für die Abwicklung der DEPFA-Gruppe führen sollten. Diese bestanden aus:

  • der Realisation von Kosteneinsparungen
  • der konsequenten Nutzung von Refinanzierungsvorteilen
  • dem Rückkauf der von der DEPFA-Gruppe begebenen Verbindlichkeiten

Bei der Abwicklung der DEPFA-Gruppe konnte die FMS-WM insbesondere durch die erfolgreichen Kapitalmaßnahmen einen Großteil der identifizierten Werthebel bei der DEPFA realisieren.

Nach den im Geschäftsjahr 2019 erzielten Fortschritten und unabhängig von der weiteren Abwicklungsstrategie geht die FMS-WM unverändert davon aus, dass die Abwicklung der DEPFA-Gruppe gegenüber dem im Jahr 2014 nicht durchgeführten Verkauf vorteilhaft bleibt.

20200420 Kernkapitalquote DEPFA

Weitere Informationen zur DEPFA Bank plc finden sich auf deren Website: https://www.depfa.com